DENVER (AP) – Gov. John Hickenlooper announced his choices to serve on a committee tasked with drawing new legislative districts for Colorado.

The Democratic governor selected former Denver Mayor Wellington Webb, Gayle A. Berry, a former Republican lawmaker from Grand Junction, and Arnold Salazar, a Democrat from Alamosa. Hickenlooper announced his choices Monday.

The other choices for the 11-member panel are selected by the Colorado Senate president, speaker of the House and the state’s chief justice. The committee will decide how draw the districts that make up the 100-seat Legislature, something that happens every 10 years after the census count.

A separate group was working to redraw Colorado’s congressional boundaries.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s