COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (CBS4) – Three of the most prominent Air Force Bases in Colorado will go by different names starting Monday morning. The U.S. Air Force will change the names to “better reflect their role” in the newest United States military branch.

(credit: CBS)

READ MORE: COVID In Colorado: State Health Experts Using Wastewater To Detect Omicron Variant

Peterson Air Force Base, Schriever Air Force Base, and Cheyenne Mountain Air Force Station will now be Space Force bases.

READ MORE: 'We're Hoping For Snow': Unseasonable Warmth Means Some Colorado Businesses Are Still In Summer Mode

The new names – Peterson Space Force Base, Schriever Space Force Base, and Cheyenne Mountain Space Force Station – will take effect after a name change ceremony Monday morning.

(credit: U.S. Space Force)

MORE NEWS: Helicopter Helps Repair Damaged I-70 Through Glenwood Canyon

General John Raymond, U.S. Space Force Chief of Operations, and Colonel Zachary Warakomski, Peterson-Schriever Garrison Commander, will preside over the ceremony. The bases are home to several Space Deltas and sensitive space-related missions.

Ben Warwick