VAIL, Colo. (CBS4)– The Towns of Vail, Eagle, Gypsum, Beaver Creek and other Eagle County communities have decided to cancel their professional fireworks display during the Independence Day celebration.

(credit: ThinkStock)

The decision was announced on Wednesday due to the fire restrictions in Eagle County, which move to Stage 2 on Friday.

READ MORE: COVID In Colorado: Doctors React To FDA Decision On Vaccine Booster Shots For Only Targeted Group

The Sylvan Fire continues to grow in the White River National Forest, which has forced some closures in the forest and evacuations for some Eagle County residents.

READ MORE: Barry Morphew Will Stand Trial For Murder Of Wife Suzanne

(credit: Inciweb)

Even with the cancellation of the fireworks show, the other planned activities for the Independence Day Celebration will go on as planned.

MORE NEWS: Gabby Petito Traveled To Great Sand Dunes, Colorado Springs With Fiancé Before She Seemingly Disappeared

Beaver Creek Independence Day Schedule of Events, July 4
11 a.m. – Seating Area opens at Park Hyatt Lawn
12 p.m. – Independence Day Celebration begins
12 p.m. – Stars, Stripes and Slides Opens
12 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. – Performance by Burnsville Blues Band
2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. – Performance by Shari Puorto
5 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. – Performance by Shari Puorto
7 p.m. – Stars, Stripes and Slides closes
7:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. – Performance by Jackie Greene

Jennifer McRae