By Danielle Chavira

DENVER (CBS4) – A Japanese-American incarceration site in southeastern Colorado could soon become a national park. The National Park Service wants to hear from Coloradans first.

Amache is located on the Eastern Plains outside of the town of Granada. It was one of 10 incarceration sites operated during World War II.

READ MORE: Female Bicyclist Killed By Car In Lakewood, Driver Arrested For Impaired Driving

(credit: amache.org)

More than 10,000 Japanese-Americans and legal residents were incarcerated there.

The National Park Service is holding virtual meetings to discuss the possibility of it becoming a national park:

READ MORE: Alleged U.S. Capitol Rioter Patrick Montgomery Faces Arrest After Hunting Mountain Lion

Saturday, May 22, 2021
11:00 am to 1:00 pm MST / 10:00 am to 12:00 pm PST
Link: https://brown.zoom.us/j/92961369737
By phone: (877) 369 0926, Meeting ID: 929 6136 9737

Wednesday, May 26, 2021
3:30 pm to 5:30 pm MST / 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm PST
Link: https://brown.zoom.us/j/94315127736
By phone: (877) 853 5247, Meeting ID: 943 1512 7736

Thursday, May 27, 2021
6:00 pm to 8:00 pm MST / 5:00 pm to 6:00 pm PST
Link: https://brown.zoom.us/j/95324800472
By phone: (877) 853 5247, Meeting ID: 953 2480 0472

MORE NEWS: Michael Curran Arrested For Stealing Jeep With 1-Year-Old Child Inside

The agency plans to share information about the process and what criteria was used to evaluate the site for consideration.

Danielle Chavira