By Anica Padilla

LARIMER COUNTY, Colo. (CBS4) — Larimer County officials announced it will join other counties preparing to move to Level Red on the state’s COVID-19 dial. Larimer County will move into Level Red on Tuesday.

Fifteen counties announced they would move to Level Red on Friday evening and a handful of others plan to make the change on Sunday.

READ MORE: 'It Broke The Law': Colorado Settles Lawsuit With Federal Government

(credit: Colorado Department of Public Health And Environment)

The reason for the move into the more restrictive level is of a surge in coronavirus cases in those areas.  The dial updates Level Red – Severe Risk to “indicate counties where there is severe risk of COVID-19 spreading rapidly, while allowing some businesses to remain open at very limited capacity.

The counties moving to Level Red on Nov. 20 are:

  • Adams
  • Arapahoe
  • Boulder
  • Broomfield
  • Clear Creek
  • Denver
  • Douglas
  • Jefferson
  • La Plata
  • Logan
  • Mesa
  • Morgan
  • Routt
  • Summit
  • Washington

The additional counties making the move to Level Red on Nov. 22 are Alamosa, Larimer, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo and Weld. In addition, the following counties are moving to Level Orange on Saturday: Baca, Bent and Kiowa.

READ MORE: I-70 Reopened At Eisenhower Tunnels After Hours-Long 'Police Activity'

Under Level Red restrictions, outdoor activities are encouraged and most indoor activities are prohibited or strictly limited. Capacity limits are also significant.

RELATED: Indoor Dining Will Soon Be Banned In Numerous Colorado Counties

Under Level Red, in-person learning for students between pre-school and 5th grade is suggested. Middle and high school students are suggested to learn remotely or in a hybrid environment.

MORE NEWS: Dozens Of Volunteers Fan Out To Clear Debris From East Troublesome Fire In Grand Lake

LINKS: Colorado COVID-19 Dashboard | Colorado COVID-19 Dial | Denver COVID-19 Restrictions

Anica Padilla