DENVER (AP) — Five-time Olympic champion Missy Franklin has married former Texas swimmer Hayes Johnson in Colorado. The 24-year-old Franklin posted about Saturday’s wedding on Instagram.

View this post on Instagram

Let’s talk THANK YOU’s for this #weddingwednesday!!! I have always, always, always found so much joy in writing and receiving hand-written cards. It truly is one of my favorite things, so I honestly have LOVED writing our thank you’s to beloved family and friends who have sent us the most wonderful gifts!! My advice for any other bride-to-be! 1. Write them as the gifts come in! Staying on top of it versus having them pile up makes it much more FUN and way less stressful. 2. @minted has EVERYTHING you need to make your thank you’s exactly how you imagine them and so easy to put together! They send pre-addressed envelopes and we even picked out a personalized stamp that we loved! 3. As an extra little detail, I ordered a personalized return stamp from Etsy to stamp on the back of each card!!! I have a feeling we are going to be saying these two words A LOT the next two and a half weeks, and I couldn’t be more grateful.

A post shared by Missy Franklin Johnson (@missyfranklin88) on

Her engagement a year ago was also declared on Instagram.

The Colorado native became the first woman to win four gold medals in a single Olympics in any sport at the 2012 London Games. She won a gold medal as part of a relay team in 2016 in Rio de Janeiro.

Missy Franklin of the United States starts the first leg of the Women’s 4x100m Medley Relay on Day 8 of the London 2012 Olympic Games at the Aquatics Centre on August 4, 2012 in London. (credit: Jeff Gross/Getty Images)

Franklin retired last year, citing chronic shoulder pain.

Missy Franklin competes in the women’s 200 meter backstroke preliminaries during the 2014 Arena Grand Prix of Santa Clara at the George F. Haines International Swim Center on June 21, 2014 in Santa Clara, California. (credit: Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Johnson has competed in U.S. Olympic trials and won an NCAA championship with the University of Texas.

(© Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply