By Justin Adams

DENVER (CBS4) – The Denver Broncos continue to round out their 53-man roster, signing linebackers Keishawn Bierria and Corey Nelson and cornerback Davontae Harris, the team announced on Monday.

The Broncos also added running back Khalfani Muhammad to their practice squad.

DENVER, CO – DECEMBER 18: Wide receiver Julian Edelman #11 of the New England Patriots is hit by inside linebacker Corey Nelson #52 of the Denver Broncos after a second quarter catch at Sports Authority Field at Mile High on December 18, 2016 in Denver, Colorado. (Photo by Justin Edmonds/Getty Images)

Nelson returns to Denver after playing 53 games for the team from 2014-17. His best season came in 2016, when he started six games for the Broncos and recorded 61 tackles and broke up five passes. Nelson’s journey back to Denver included stops with the Philadelphia Eagles, Atlanta Falcons and Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He played one game for the Falcons last season.

(credit: CBS)

Bierria re-signs with the Broncos after not making the team’s initial 53-man roster on Saturday. The Broncos sixth round pick from last year’s NFL Draft, played in all 16 games last season as a rookie and made five tackles.

Harris is a second-year player who the Bengals selected in the fifth round of the 2018 NFL Draft. He suffered an injury during the 2018 preseason and spent the first 12 games of the season on injured reserve. Harris returned to the field in December and played special teams in three games for the Bengals.

EVANSTON, IL – SEPTEMBER 10: (L-R) Bryce Holm #31, Davontae Harris #10 and Dalton Keene #98 of the Illinois State Redbirds celebrate after a win against the Northwestern Wildcats at Ryan Field on September 10, 2016 in Evanston, Illinois. Illiinois State defeated Northwestern 9-7. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

The Broncos also placed quarterback Drew Lock, tight end Jake Butt and running back Theo Riddick on injured reserve. Denver is able to designate two players to return from injured reserve after eight weeks. Lock, Butt and Riddick are currently the only players eligible to return, as they were placed on injured reserve after the initial 53-man roster was formed.

Players placed on injured reserve before Saturday at 2 p.m. are unable to return this season.

The Broncos also signed tackle Jake Rodgers and inside linebacker, and former CSU product, Josh Watson to their practice squad.

Denver’s 10-man practice squad is below:
Quinn Bailey – Tackle
Fred Brown – Wide Receiver
Ahmad Gooden – Outside Linebacker
Alijah Holder – Cornerback
Tyler Jones – Offensive Lineman
Khalfani Muhammad – Running Back
Jake Rodgers – Tackle
Brett Rypien – Quarterback
Deyon Sizer – Defensive Lineman
Josh Watson – Inside Linebacker

The team also announced several jersey numbers for the new players on the roster:

QB Brandon Allen: No. 2
WR Diontae Spencer: No. 11
CB Duke Dawson Jr.: No. 20
CB Davontae Harris: No. 27
LB Corey Nelson: No. 56
OL Corey Levin: No. 62
FB/TE Andrew Beck: No. 83

Several Broncos players also changed numbers:
RB Theo Riddick: No. 21
OL Tyler Jones: No. 63
DL Deyon Sizer: No. 91

RELATED: First Look At The Denver Broncos 2019 Roster

The Broncos play the Oakland Raiders in California in the season opener next Monday night at 8:20 p.m.

Justin Adams


Leave a Reply