DENVER (CBS4) – The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field. The award was established in 1970. It was renamed in 1999 after the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back Walter Payton.

Each team nominates one player who has had a significant positive impact on his community.

RELATED: Bruton Jr. Tapped For Walter Payton Award, Anderson Honored As Well

David Bruton Jr. has been named the 2015 Denver Broncos Walter Payton Man of the Year recipient. The David Bruton Foundation’s commitment to Bruton’s Books highlighted Bruton’s personal commitment to the Mile High community. He joins an impressive list.

Previous Denver Broncos Walter Payton Man of the Year:

2002 Ed McCaffrey
2003 Ian Gold
2004 Rod Smith
2005 John Lynch
2006 Rod Smith
2007 Domonique Foxworth
2008 Champ Bailey
2009 Champ Bailey
2010 Wesley Woodyard
2011 Wesley Woodyard
2012 Zane Beadles
2013 Wesley Woodyard
2014 Ben Garland

The National Winners:

1970 Johnny Unitas Baltimore Colts
1971 John Hadl San Diego Chargers
1972 Willie Lanier Kansas City Chiefs
1973 Len Dawson Kansas City Chiefs
1974 George Blanda Oakland Raiders
1975 Ken Anderson Cincinnati Bengals
1976 Franco Harris Pittsburgh Steelers
1977 Walter Payton Chicago Bears
1978 Roger Staubach Dallas Cowboys
1979 Joe Greene Pittsburgh Steelers
1980 Harold Carmichael Philadelphia Eagles
1981 Lynn Swann Pittsburgh Steelers
1982 Joe Theismann Washington Redskins
1983 Rolf Benirschke San Diego Chargers
1984 Marty Lyons New York Jets
1985 Dwight Stephenson Miami Dolphins
1986 Reggie Williams Cincinnati Bengals
1987 Dave Duerson Chicago Bears
1988 Steve Largent Seattle Seahawks
1989 Warren Moon Houston Oilers
1990 Mike Singletary Chicago Bears
1991 Anthony Munoz Cincinnati Bengals
1992 John Elway Denver Broncos
1993 Derrick Thomas Kansas City Chiefs
1994 Junior Seau San Diego Chargers
1995 Boomer Esiason Cincinnati Bengals
1996 Darrell Green Washington Redskins
1997 Troy Aikman Dallas Cowboys
1998 Dan Marino Miami Dolphins
1999 Cris Carter Minnesota Vikings
2000 Derrick Brooks Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Jim Flanigan Chicago Bears
2001 Jerome Bettis Pittsburgh Steelers
2002 Troy Vincent Philadelphia Eagles
2003 Will Shields Kansas City Chiefs
2004 Warrick Dunn Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2005 Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts
2006 Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
LaDainian Tomlinson San Diego Chargers
2007 Jason Taylor Miami Dolphins
2008 Kurt Warner Arizona Cardinals
2009 Brian Waters Kansas City Chiefs
2010 Madieu Williams Minnesota Vikings
2011 Matt Birk Baltimore Ravens
2012 Jason Witten Dallas Cowboys
2013 Charles Tillman Chicago Bears
2014 Thomas Davis Carolina Panthers


Leave a Reply