COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (AP) – Olympic champions Ryan Lochte and Missy Franklin will lead the U.S. roster against a team of Europe’s top swimmers for the Duel in the Pool on Dec. 11-12 in Indianapolis.

Other Olympic gold medalists on the 36-member team are Nathan Adrian, Tyler Clary, Natalie Coughlin and Matt Grevers. They will be joined by Olympic medalists Conor Dwyer, Jessica Hardy, Caitlin Leverenz, Lia Neal and Nick Thoman for the meet at Indiana University Natatorium.

Jack Baurele of Georgia will coach the U.S. team in his first major appointment since returning to his job after being banned for nearly a year during an NCAA investigation.

The U.S. has won Duel in the Pool all six times it has been held.

The European roster is expected to be announced next week.

There will be 15 events per gender, with over $120,000 in prize money at stake.

(© Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply