Third baseman Nolan Arenado #28 of the Colorado Rockies

Nolan Arenado makes a backhanded catch at Marlins Park on Aug. 25 in Miami. (Photo by Marc Serota/Getty Images)

DENVER (CBS4) – Two Colorado Rockies were honored with Gold Glove awards on Tuesday night.

Left fielder Carlos Gonzalez won his third and Nolan Arenado became the first rookie third baseman to win the award since 1957. It was the first time a rookie has won the award since outfielder Ichiro Suzuki was honored in 2001.

Left fielder Carlos Gonzalez #5 of the Colorado Rockies

Carlos Gonzalez makes a throw against the San Diego Padres at Coors Field on April 5. (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)

Arenado told ESPN there were a couple plays that he was glad to make when the game was a line.

“Todd Helton helped me out a lot, too, by picking up all my bad throws,” he told ESPN.

Rockies veteran Troy Tulowitzki was in the running but he lost out to Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons.

Rawlings has presented Gold Gloves since 1957.

(TM and © Copyright 2013 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2013 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s