DENVER (AP) – At least nine counties plan to mail ballots to inactive voters for the Nov. 1 election after a judge denied the Colorado secretary of state’s attempt to block the practice.

Opponents say allowing some voters to participate while denying the rights of others is unfair.

Supporters tell the Denver Post that barring mail ballots for inactive voters would discourage voter participation.

The counties taking part include Denver, Pueblo, Boulder, Pitkin, Eagle, Conejos, Costilla and Huerfano. Mesa County plans to mail ballots to inactive military and overseas voters.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply