DENVER (AP) – Federal officials have declared a drought-related disaster in southeast Colorado, making farmers and ranchers eligible for emergency help.

Sen. Mark Udall said Monday that the Department of Agriculture’s declaration covers Baca, Crowley and Otero counties. Farmers there can apply can apply for emergency loans.

Farmers have eight months to apply.

Gov. John Hickenlooper had requested drought assistance for southeast Colorado and added nine counties to the list Monday: Bent, Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Huerfano, Kiowa , Las Animas, Prowers and Pueblo

He’s also seeking help for Fremont County apple producers, who lost 60 percent of their crop after two freezes.

Link: Colorado Farm Service Agency

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s