cbs4

Arts & Culture

Best Books For Finding Love This Valentine’s Day

January 19, 2014 7:00 AM

View Comments
Photo Credit Thinkstock

Photo Credit Thinkstock

Looking for that perfect book for your loved one? Our friends at Simon & Schuster have a lot of fantastic dating guides and a few less-traditional reads to help you feel the love this Valentine’s Day.

Are You My Boyfriend?
By C.B. Bryza with illustrations by Simon Greiner

are you my boyfriend Best Books For Finding Love This Valentine’s Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

If you’re not sure if someone is your boyfriend and you can’t bring yourself to ask him if he is, you’ll have a good laugh while reading Are You My Boyfriend?, a hilarious parody on the classic picture book Are You My Mother?. Follow the young woman as she sets out to find that special someone—and chuckle at all the unsuitable matches she meets along the way.

Forever, Interrupted: A Novel
By Taylor Jenkins Reid

foreverinterrupted Best Books For Finding Love This Valentine’s Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Whether you’ve got a date for Valentine’s Day dinner or planned a less romantic night with a box of tissues, Taylor Jenkins Reid’s debut novel, will make you laugh, cry, and melt even the iciest of hearts. In this captivating love story, a woman who loses her husband of nine days turns to her mother-in-law—who just found out she existed—for support. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner or Emily Giffin.

Love at First Click: The Ultimate Guide to Online Dating
By Laurie Davis

loveatfirstclick Best Books For Finding Love This Valentine’s Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

This is the ultimate guide to navigating the vast and often confusing world of online dating. From choosing the right site and creating the perfect profile to meeting an online crush in an offline setting, expert Laurie Davis’s advice will have you ready to meet your “match” before Valentine’s Day.

The Gaggle: How to Find Love in the Post-Dating World
By Jessica Massa

gaggle Best Books For Finding Love This Valentine’s Day

Photo Credit Simon & Schuster

The Gaggle captures the zeitgeist of today’s “post-dating” world where instead of traditionally dating, women are finding the old rules for romance no longer apply. So, instead, you have a “gaggle” of men: a group of guys who you may not be dating, but who fulfill different needs in your life. In this clever book, you’ll discover a new path to love and soon find that perhaps romance is all around you.

The Art of Falling in Love
By Joe Beam

artoffallinginlove Best Books For Finding Love This Valentine’s Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

Sexologist and marriage and relationship expert Joe Beam shares a guaranteed, fail-proof process for falling in love based on years of research, counseling, and working with couples who want more in their marriage or are on the verge of divorce. This four-step process—which Joe calls “The LovePath”—is also an excellent resource for singles that want to know how to find true, lasting love.

Much Ado About Loving: What Our Favorite Novels Can Teach You About Date Expectations, Not So-Great Gatsbys, and Love in the Time of Internet Personals
By Maura Kelly and Jack Murnighan

muchadoaboutloving Best Books For Finding Love This Valentine’s Day

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster

If you’ve ever thought your love life strangely resembled a plotline in a Jane Austen novel, Much Ado About Loving is the advice book for you. Kelly and Murnigham blend relationship advice with literary criticism to help you better understand your romantic conundrum. Using literary references to answer questions like: “How do I talk to a sensitive man?” or “What’s the line between confidence and arrogance?”), these timeless and relevant essays offer bookish insight to your real-life dating woes.

This list was curated by Simon & Schuster, a CBS Company. For more information on any of these books or audiobooks, please visit www.simonandschuster.com

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers