cbs4 logo 2010


April 22, 2014

Contact: Danielle Dascalos

(720) 837-3845 or


CBS4 Wins Three Top Edward R. Murrow Awards – Overall Excellence, Best Breaking News and Best Newscast

Denver–The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the winners today of the 2014 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world, and CBS4, KCNC-TV—Denver has won three top awards in region three which includes Colorado, Arizona, Utah, Wyoming and New Mexico.

CBS4 won 2014 Regional Edward R. Murrow awards for Overall Excellence, Best Breaking News Coverage and Best Newscast.  The CBS4 award for Overall Excellence showcased the station’s outstanding work during the Colorado Floods and the depth of the station – from daily coverage, to special reports, to work in the community – on air, online and on social media. (View entry) For Breaking News, CBS4 was honored forwork from the first day of the flood disaster. (View entry)  For Best Newscast, CBS4 News at 10 p.m. was honored for late news from the first day of the Colorado Floods. (View entry)

“Winning the award for overall excellence is a great accomplishment as Murrow Awards represent the best in broadcast journalism,” CBS4 General Manager Walt DeHaven said.

Walt DeHaven CBS General Manager Walt DeHaven speaks talks about the Murrow Awards in the CBS4 newsroom on April 22, 2014. (credit: Michael Choy/CBS)

“The CBS News legend’s pursuit of excellence embodies the spirit of the awards that carry his name and we are honored that the judges chose to recognize us with three major awards and proud to be in the company of other exceptional news organizations that were also considered for these distinctions.”

“This newsroom rises to a challenge like no other I have ever seen,” News Director Tim Wieland added.  “Last year, we were tested as never before. The flood disaster in Colorado required us to be at our best in the most difficult conditions – and we had to be at our best for hour upon hour, then week upon week, and eventually month upon month. It’s at times like this our great community needs us the most and we are proud of the work done in those tough times.”

RTDNA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism, representing local and network news executives in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries.  The association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.

Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession. Each year RTDNA receives thousands of entries from more than 500 news organizations in all 50 states and many countries. CBS4 competed against major market television stations in region three which includes Colorado, Arizona, Utah, Wyoming and New Mexico.

2014 regional winners will go on to compete for national awards. National winners will be announced in June and winning entrants will be invited to join RTDNA at the annual awards presentation which will be held at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City on October 6, 2014.

For more information, call CBS4 at 303-861-4444 or visit For the complete list of winners visit




CBS4, KCNC-TV—Denver, is part of CBS Television Stations, a division of CBS Corporation.