DENVER (AP) — The Colorado Department of Agriculture has adopted the state’s first industrial hemp rules that went into effect before New Year’s Day.
The department said Thursday producers can begin registering with the department’s industrial hemp program on March 1.
The annual registration fee for commercial production of industrial hemp will be $200, plus $1 an acre. The annual registration fee for research and development will be $100 plus $5 an acre.
Industrial hemp, marijuana’s non-intoxicating cousin, is already under limited cultivation in Colorado, though it defies federal drug law. Hemp and its oil-rich seeds are used mostly in foods, cosmetics and textiles.
Hemp production was made legal last year when Colorado voters also decided to defy federal drug law and allow recreational marijuana for adults.
(© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)