6 Of 11 Colorado Counties Vote ‘No’ On 51st State

(credit: CBS)

(credit: CBS)

GREELEY, Colo. (AP) – Eleven rural Colorado counties delivered a divided vote on an effort to form a 51st state called North Colorado.

A voter casts their ballot in Weld County on Tuesday.(credit: CBS)

A voter casts their ballot in Weld County on Tuesday.(credit: CBS)

Six counties voted against the idea — including Weld County, whose commissioners spearheaded the effort. They cited popular frustration with the Democrat-led state government that they claim neglects rural interests.

Unofficial returns from Tuesday’s election suggested Elbert, Lincoln, Logan, Sedgwick and Moffat counties also voted against secession. Voting “Yes” were Cheyenne, Kit Carson, Phillips, Washington and Yuma counties.

Colorado’s Legislature and the U.S. Congress ultimately would have to approve any new state — something considered highly unlikely. But the movement’s leaders claimed victory in attracting attention to their complaints.

(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Denver


Listen Live

AM/FM Stations

Featured Shows & Multimedia