FEMA Denies Aid Designation For Some Colorado Counties

DENVER (AP) – The Federal Emergency Management Agency has determined that some Colorado counties don’t qualify for public or individual assistance in the aftermath of September’s flooding.

FEMA notified Gov. John Hickenlooper Wednesday of its decision to deny the assistance designation for some counties as requested by the state. FEMA says in a letter that assessments show the damage to residences in Broomfield, Denver, Gilpin, Otero, and Pueblo counties is not severe enough to warrant a designation for individual assistance.

The letter goes on to say that the damage to infrastructure in Broomfield, Otero, and Pueblo counties is not severe enough to warrant a designation for public assistance.

The state has 30 days to appeal FEMA’s determination.

So far, 11 counties qualify for individual assistance and 18 counties qualify for public assistance.

Colorado Floods: How To Help

The recent floods are impacting families and communities throughout Colorado, so CBS4 has compiled a list of ways you can support the local communities impacted by the floods.

(© Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Denver


Watch & Listen LIVE