6 Sentenced For Identity Theft And Racketeering

DENVER (CBS4)– Six people have been sentenced for committing identity theft and racketeering with the Colorado Organized Crime Control Act.

Gregory Anaya, Sarah Dominyc Olson, Tito Freddy Ontiveros, Michael Shaw, Michael Vigil and Lillian Zavala all pleaded guilty and were sentenced to 14 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections.

Police in Thornton teamed up with police and sheriff’s departments from 12 state agencies and the Secret Service during the investigation which involved stealing checks from mailboxes.

The suspects were also accused of manufacturing checks on computers using victims’ identifying information obtained from the mail, forging U.S. currency, stealing cars and switching the VIN on the vehicles.

Funds acquired from the crimes were used primarily to support the defendants’ methamphetamine habits.

As a result of the successful investigation, the Colorado Auto Theft Investigators Association awarded the 2012 Investigation of the Year Award to Thornton Police Detective Mark Swisher, and Deputy Distinct Attorneys Mike Heinz and Josh Raaz.


More From CBS Denver

Weather App
CBS Local App

Listen Live

AM/FM Stations

Featured Shows & Multimedia