AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. (AP) — Cody Getz had 222 of Air Force’s 459 yards rushing to lead the Falcons to a 42-21 win over in-state rival Colorado State on Saturday.

Getz’s career-high mark made him the first player in Air Force history to begin a season with four consecutive 100-yard rushing games and the first with two 200-yard games in the same season since Chad Hall in 2007. The Falcons (2-2, 1-1 Mountain West) defeated the Rams (1-4, 0-1) for the seventh straight year.

Connor Dietz threw two touchdowns for Air Force, the nation’s No. 2 rushing team entering the game. Five players scored for the Falcons, with Ty MacArthur finding the end zone twice.

M.J. McPeek threw for 292 yards and two touchdowns for Colorado State after coming on in relief of starting quarterback Garrett Grayson, who left the game with an injured left shoulder late in the first quarter.

Getz is among the nation’s rushing leaders with 679 yards. The last Falcons player to hit the century mark in four consecutive games was Beau Morgan in 1996.

Air Force had a handful of other scoring chances, but Getz fumbled at the Rams 5-yard line in the third quarter and Falcons kicker Parker Herrington missed a 31-yard field-goal attempt in the fourth.

The Rams drove into Air Force territory on their opening drive of the second half, but McPeek was intercepted by Anthony LaCoste at the Falcons 23-yard-line, and he returned it 47 yards to the Colorado State 30. Two personal foul penalties gave Air Force a first down at the 7, but Getz fumbled on the next play.

Colorado State then went on a 12-play, 95-yard scoring drive that culminated with Kivon Cartwright recovering a Tommey Morris fumble in the end zone. That cut the Air Force lead to 35-21, but it was as close as the Rams would get.

Grayson left the game at the end of the first half clutching his left shoulder after being tackled on an option run. He was led by medical personnel to the Rams’ locker room and did not return.

Air Force’s seven-game winning streak over Colorado State matches the longest in the series’ history, with the Falcons also taking seven in a row from 1983-89.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s