DENVER (CBS4) – More communities announced Wednesday the cancelation of public fireworks displays.

Gov. John Hickenlooper has banned open burning and fireworks in state areas. Jefferson County has gone one step further, banning the sale of fireworks in unincorporated areas of the county.

Communities want to keep people safe and protect homes. Even though fireworks are still being sold, police and sheriffs’ departments say they will be strictly enforcing the ban and ticketing violators. They will be taking it very seriously this year with because fo the current conditions.

The following cities have canceled Fourth of July fireworks shows:

– Aspen
– Aurora
– Black Hawk
– Boulder
– Breckenridge
– Frisco
– Georgetown
– Glendale
– Golden
– Greenwood Village
– Idaho Springs
– Lone Tree
– Nederland
– Steamboat Springs

The Air Force Academy has also announced the cancelation of its fireworks show along with all the Fourth of July events on the base.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s