Larimer County Limits Fireworks As Wildfire Rages

View Comments
Fireworks (credit: CBS)

Fireworks (credit: CBS)

FORT COLLINS, Colo. (AP) — Fourth of July celebrations in western, unincorporated Larimer County won’t be including fireworks.

County commissioners on Tuesday approved a ban on public fireworks displays, along with the sale or use of fireworks, in unincorporated areas of western Larimer County through Sept. 30.

That area includes land burned by wildfires this spring.

Commissioners already had extended restrictions on open fires.

In the Aspen area, drought conditions have prompted officials to cancel fireworks displays planned for the Food & Wine Classic this weekend and for the Fourth of July.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,505 other followers