ASPEN, Colo. (AP) — The federal Bureau of Land Management is banning fires on some bureau lands in Colorado.

The ban going into effect Thursday means no fires of any type on BLM land, including Eagle, Garfield, Mesa and Pitkin counties.

The bureau says an unusually dry spring has increased fire danger to high levels at elevations below 8,000 feet.

The White River National Forest is not included.

According to the Colorado Division of Emergency Management, nearly 20 counties across Colorado now have some level of fire restrictions.

A list of some of the restrictions:

— Campfires are only allowed within designated fire grates, such as a metal, in-ground containment structure, in developed campgrounds. Fire pans and rock campfires rings are not acceptable.

— No fires of any type, including charcoal outside of developed areas, will be allowed.

— No smoking except within an enclosed vehicle or building, a developed recreation site or in a barren area free of vegetation.

— No use of explosive materials.

— No welding or operation of an acetylene or other similar torches with open flames.

— No use of any internal combustion engine without a spark arresting device properly installed and in working order.

Fireworks are always prohibited on BLM, National Forest and National Park Service lands.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s