EAGLE, Colo. (AP) — Two more Colorado counties are restricting fires and burning following a dry March.

Eagle County sheriff Joe Hoy announced Friday that all open burn permits that have been issued will be suspended indefinitely starting at midnight. Using fireworks or other explosive devices will also be banned.

Douglas County also issued fire restrictions on Friday for unincorporated areas, including national forest property. All open burns, fireworks and even charcoal grills and patio fire pits are prohibited.

Any violators will be fined $600.

Earlier this week, Arapahoe, Boulder and Jefferson counties as well as Denver’s mountain parks implemented fire restrictions following the outbreak of wildfire that has destroyed at least 25 homes near Conifer.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s