BREAKING NEWS: Service disrupted for several RTD light rail lines after a fatal train-pedestrian collision (Full Story)

Schedule Announced For USA Pro Cycling Challenge

DENVER (AP) – USA Pro Cycling Challenge race officials have announced the 12 host cities that will serve as starts and finishes for the second annual stage race next year.

The seven-day race runs from Aug. to Aug. 26.

Cities chosen from about 40 contenders include Durango, Telluride, Montrose, Mt. Crested Butte, Gunnison, Aspen, Beaver Creek, Breckenridge, Colorado Springs, Golden, Boulder and Denver.

The four new cities joining the 2012 race include Durango, Telluride, Montrose and Boulder.

The host cities and stages of the 2012 USA Pro Challenge include:
• Monday, Aug. 20- Stage 1- Durango – Telluride
• Tuesday, Aug. 21- Stage 2- Montrose – Crested Butte/Mt. Crested Butte
• Wednesday, Aug. 22- Stage 3- Gunnison – Aspen
• Thursday, Aug. 23- Stage 4- Aspen – Beaver Creek/Vail Valley
• Friday, Aug. 24- Stage 5- Breckenridge – Colorado Springs
• Saturday, Aug. 25- Stage 6- Golden – Boulder
• Sunday, Aug. 26- Stage 7/TT- Denver

PHOTO GALLERY: USA Pro Cycling Challenge 2011


Watch an interview with race spokesman Brian Farris from Friday’s CBS4 Morning News in the video clip below:

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


More From CBS Denver

Weather App
CBS Local App

Listen Live

AM/FM Stations

Featured Shows & Multimedia