Saguache County 2010 Election Winners Confirmed

SAGUACHE, Colo. (AP) – A recount of 2010 election ballots in Saguache County has confirmed the winners in races for a county commissioner’s seat and the county clerk’s office.

Secretary of State Scott Gessler’s office worked with local residents to re-tabulate the results, which were released Wednesday.

Gessler sought the review after a recount by the county last year reversed apparent victories by two Republican candidates and awarded them to County Clerk Melinda Myers and Linda Joseph, both Democrats.

Myers initially refused to allow an audit, citing voters’ right to privacy. She argued that the public should not be allowed to inspect cast ballots.

A court later ordered the review to proceed.

Gessler’s office said Wednesday it will work closely with the county to ensure a smooth election this November.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)


More From CBS Denver

Send A News Tip

Listen Live

AM/FM Stations

Featured Shows & Multimedia